A Cheshire Cat !

    IMG_1384

Time to throw myself again into a different reality… looking outside of my window where gray skies, clouds and rain are staring right back at me! :O

IMG_1383

THE IDEA BEHIND IT

IMG_1374Perfect time to make another card with the beautiful stamps by Visible Image. This company manages to create whole sets of character stamps of childhood stories that were amongst my absolute favorite, such as Wizard of Oz and Alice in Wonderland (Through the Looking Glass). This time around I have chosen the latter, for I love the Cheshire Cat and have been wanting to recreate a very specific moment from the Disney version: His introduction to Alice, where he lifts off his ears and forehead with a great big smile!

 A CLOSER LOOK

IMG_1375 IMG_1381

I kept the coloring according to the Disney version, as that is the story that I am most familiar with. I wanted the card to have lots of layers, creating depth by building a forrest using dies from Magnolia.

      IMG_1377     I decided against Wink of Stella or any other form of glitter, since, even though the story is magical, there are no fairies and such. However, Glossy Accent on the eyes helps giving Alice a bit more dimension. I had to change the direction of her eyes though,  I wanted her to look right at the Cheshire Cat…     IMG_1376   For the cat I decided to cut off the ear and forehead portion of the stamped image and attached it to the tail of the cat. To get the tail in the right position, I had to cut a slit into the top of the tree crowns… I think it worked out nicely and I just love how it turned out ! 😀 And like Alice, I changed the direction of the eyes, so the Cat is looking at Alice as thought they are having a conversation 😉       IMG_1380

And lastly, I thought the card needed some glow in the dark, as the Cheshire Cat shows up by first only showing his eyes: the stamp set comes with at stamp that includes the eyes and mouth only, perfect for stamping backgrounds. However, I decided to make the background glow at night, by stamping and embossing the black background with WOW Glow in the Dark embossing Powder !!!! hahahahaha

I LOVE IT !!!!!

Hope you do too and have fun with it 😀

    Blog Ending

SUPPLIES

Stamps: ALICE; CHESHIRE CAT (Visible Image) Inks: Versafine Onyx Black Embossing: Glow-in-the-Dark (WOW) Medium: Distress Markers; Distress Inks Paper: Watercolor paper; Colored cardstock (Panduro) Designer Paper: Herbs (Panduro) Dies: Fruit Tree; Birch, Grass (Magnolia Doohickeys) Embellishments: Glossy Accents

I’m entering this card in following challenge…

Virginia’s View Challenge
Stempelsonne

2 thoughts on “A Cheshire Cat !

Leave a Reply

