Mother’s Day is Family Day

IMG_1312

Just in time for Mother’s Day (Morsdag), I  made this card for my son Erik. He is turning eight this summer, and even though, traditionally, the focus lies on the mother, for us it us family. I want my son to know how much I love him and how thankful and proud I am to be his mother. Also, the stamped image kind of looks like us… hehe

THE IDEA BEHIND IT

IMG_1310

I am trying out different sty les to challenge myself, so this one is kept CAS (i.e. Cl

ean and Simple). Yes yes, most people would think those cards to be the easiest ones, however, when you have a stack of patterened paper and a big stash of stamps, dies and stamp pads etc., keeping a card clean and simple can be a little hard some times… 😉

CLOSER LOOK

For the colouring I used Tim Holtz Distress Ink markers on smooth watercolour paper. They are quite easy to work with and you can find them in a rather large selection of colors.

IMG_1313IMG_1314

IMG_1313

I Love Love LOVE dimension and glimmer, so I used Wink of Stella and Glossy Accents on the hearts and popped them up with dimensionals. The stamped image itself is fussy cut and popped up as well. The sentiment is cut with ABC’s from Taylored Expressions.

 Blog Ending

SUPPLIES

Stamps: MY BOY (Saturated Canary); QUEEN OF HEARTS (Visible Image)
Inks: Versafine Onyx Black
Medium: Distress Ink Markers
Paper:
Watercolor paper; Paper Fooil
Designer Paper: Kitchy Kitchen (Panduro)
Dies:  Tall & Skinny Alpha (Taylored Expression); Stitched Rounded Rectangles (MFT)
Embellishments: FlowersWink of Stella; Glossy Accents

Leave a Reply

